Telangana gets women ministers for the first time

Telangana chief minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao has expanded his cabinet by inducting six ministers along with his son K.T. Rama Rao and nephew T. Harish Rao. Two women members have also made it to the council of ministers.

Maheswaram constituency MLA Sabitha Indra Reddy and MLC Satyavathi Rathod will be the first women ministers in the state cabinet after the formation of Telangana state in June 2014.

The new ministers have taken oath of office and secrecy by Telangana governor Tamilisai Soundararajan at the Raj Bhavan with the presence of the chief minister.

The cabinet expansion has taken place a day ahead of the budget session of the assembly which was scheduled to begin from Monday.

Rao’s son K.T. Rama Rao and his nephew and senior TRS MLA T. Harish Rao have already served as ministers in the first Telangana Rashtra Samithi-led government in the state between 2014 and 2018 whereas Sabitha Indra Reddy was the home minister in the previous Congress government in the united Andhra Pradesh.

Telangana governor Tamilisai Soundararajan has approved the allocation of portfolios for the council of ministers. Harish Rao has been made the finance minister whereas Rama Rao has again been allotted the same departments.

Share this to your,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *