Ravish Kumar of NDTV “Prime Time” anchor wins Ramon Magsaysay Award

Ravish Kumar of NDTV has signified for the Ramon Magsaysay Award for his “firm dedication to professional, moral journalism of the greatest standards”.

Ravish Kumar is amongst the five winners of the 2019 Magsaysay award which identifies the “prominence of quality and transformative leadership in Asia”.

The award represents Ravish Kumar as a sober, intelligent and well-informed anchor. “If you have become the voice of the people, you are a journalist,” it says.

Ko Swe Win from Myanmar, AngkhanaNeelapaijit from Thailand, Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab from Philippines and Kim Jong-Ki from South Korea are the other four winners.

Relating to Ravish Kumar’s news show “Prime Time”, the company says it is about real-life, under-reported dilemmas of common people.

Ravish Kumar has served NDTV from 1996, has frequently suffered threats for his bold plain-speak. Ravish Kumar, put up in Jitwarpur, Bihar, sought his interest in history and public affairs at the Delhi University.

“He does not hesitate at beckoning the most powerful leaders to criticize media and the nature of public discussion in the nation; for this purpose, he has been attacked and threatened by extreme supporters of one kind or another,” says the Ramon Magsaysay Foundation.

Arvind Kejriwal writes on his Twitter, “Welcome Ravish to the club of Magsaysay awardees and hope to see his brave journalism go from strength to strength in these difficult times.”

Share this to your,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *