Mary Kom, Bhaichung Bhutia In 12-Member choice Panel For countrywide sports activities Awards

In a departure from conference, the countrywide sports activities awards for athletes and coaches this yr might be decided by using a

unmarried 12-member panel, offering the likes of six-time global champion boxer MC Mary Kom and previous soccer captain Bhaichung

Bhutia. The awards might be given away on August 29, the birth anniversary of hockey wizard principal Dhyan Chand which is widely

known because the countrywide sports Day.

“This year we are attempting out a brand new idea of one choice committee for all the awards. We experience too many committees are

pointless as they only make things hard and create controversies,” a sports Ministry supply advised PTI.

The 12-member committee is headed by way of very best court decide Justice (Retd) Mukundakam Sharma and incorporates sports activities Secretary Radhey Shyam Jhulaniya, sports activities Authority of India Director trendy Sandeep Pradhan, target Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS) CEO Commander Rajesh Rajagopalan, Mary Kom, Bhutia, ex-girls’s cricket crew captain Anjum Chopra, celebrated former long-jumper Anju Bobby George and table tennis coach Kamlesh Mehta among others.

except, the committee also capabilities two mediapersons in leader Editor of times organization (digital) Rajesh Kalra and renowned sports activities commentator Charu Sharma.

In contrast to previous editions, this committee will handpick all the winners of national sports Awards — the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award (for coaches), Dhyan Chand Award (lifetime achievement) and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Award.

After big delay, the selection committee changed into finalised on Wednesday.

“sure, we recognize we’re little past due in forming the committee but we’ve enough time in our arms to select the awardees,” the supply said.

The professional in addition stated the primary meeting of the selection committee may be held early next week. by the stop of the week, the award winners are probably to be announced.

Share this to your,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *