Lok Sabha elections 2019 Dates: Maharashtra to vote in four phases, UP in all seven phases

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced that the Lok Sabha polls will be held in seven phases over the months of April and May. The Model Code of Conduct came into effect today. He announced that the total electorate in these polls will be 900 million, 84.3 million more than the electorate during the 2014 general elections. Of the 900 million voters, 15 million are new voters in the age group of 18-19 years. Arora also said that there will be a heavy deployment of Central Armed Police Forces throughout the process.

Voting will be conducted in the seven phases on the following dates:

Phase 1: 11 April (91 constituencies in 20 states)
Phase 2: 18 April (97 constituencies in 13 states)
Phase 3: 23 April (115 constituencies in 14 states)
Phase 4: 29 April (71 constituencies in 9 states)
Phase 5: 6 May (51 constituencies in 7 states)
Phase 6: 12 May (59 constituencies in 7 states)
Phase 7: 19 May (59 constituencies in 8 states)

The counting of votes for all the phases will be held together on 23 May and elections have to be concluded by 27 May.

Share this to your,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *