Congress MLA gets BJP ticket

The BJP has fielded former Congress MLA Alpesh Thakor in the byeelection to Radhanpur assembly segment of Gujarat. They have also given ticket to Daval Singh Zala, another former Congress MLA, to contest the byeelection from Bayad.

Both Thakor and Zala had quit as MLAs on 5th July before the Rajya Sabha elections in Gujarat. They have joined the BJP in the same month after voting against Congress candidates in the Rajya Sabha bypolls.

BJP working President JP Nadda has released six names for Gujarat bypolls. The party had released 32 names from 13 states for state bypolls. Thakor had been vocal about his differences with the Congress and had quit the party before the Lok Sabha elections in April-May.

Alpesh Thakor, a prominent OBC leader and a former MLA from Radhanpur in Gujarat’s Patan district had said that he was ignored and insulted in the Congress. Thakor’s name was approved by the central election committee of BJP that was attended by PM Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah.

The Congress has announced its candidates for the byelections to four Assembly Constituencies in Gujarat.

Read more related articles about the national articles:

Follow us on Facebook and stay up to date with the latest content

Share this to your,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *